Gyokko ryu is a school of kosshijutsu (muscle and nerve point attacks), shitojutsu (thumb and fingertip striking), kenjutsu (sword) and bojutsu (staff) techniques and is sometimes referred to as Gyokko ryu Ninpo. Its name means “Jade Tiger” school and along with Koto ryu is one of the main influences in Togakure ryu Ninpo. The lineage of this school is claimed to go as far back as 1056 from its source in Tang dynasty China.

Koto ryu is a school of koppojutsu (bone breaking and manipulation), kyushojutsu (pressure point strikes) and kenjutsu (sword) techniques. Koto ryu means “Tiger knock- down” school. It was brought to Japan and subsequently codified a generation later in 1542, and since then has been taught as a sister school to Gyokko ryu.

Takagi Yoshin ryu is a school of Jutaijutsu (grappling) techniques. Its techniques are designed to be applied very quickly and in such a manner as to prevent the escape of opponents. Takagi is an old Japanese family name and Yoshin means the “heart of the willow tree”; an indication of the philosophy and way of moving in this school. It was first codified in 1635, but legend attributes its origins to a Japanese monk many years before this.

Shinden Fudo ryu is a school of dakentaijutsu (striking) and Jutaijutsu (grappling) techniques. Its name means “natural teachings transmitted by heaven”, and relies on natural and relaxed movements. This school has many body conditioning techniques using items found in nature, and has been influential in the formation of many other ryu-ha. Shinden Fudo ryu has a rich history stretching back to at least the 12th century.

Togakure ryu ninjutsu is a school that teaches jutaijutsu (unarmed combat) along with a wide range of weapons and skills associated with the ninja of the Iga province in Japan. According to the scrolls it was founded in 1182 and its taihenjutsu (body movement) has been influenced by Gyokko and Koto ryu. Due to this fact, the three schools were often taught together.

Kukishin ryu is a school of jutaijutsu (unarmed combat), kenjutsu (sword), naginatajutsu (Halberd), sojutsu (spear) and bojutsu (staff) and was formed in the 14th century. Its name means “Nine gods spirit school” and its founder is reputed to have saved the Japanese emperor with his powerful Naginata techniques in 1336. Its Taijutsu is closely linked to Takagi ryu, and its bojutsu, naginata and sojutsu are very powerful. A true koryu (traditional) bojutsu.

Jinen ryu is a school created by Unsui Sensei based upon his many years of training and studying weapons- based martial arts. It contains a full curriculum for the following weapons:

  • Biken (sword)
  • Nito (two swords used at once)
  • Tessen (iron war fan)
  • Tanto (knife)
  • Kusarifundo (weighted chain)
  • Jutte (cudgel)

Bagua Zhang is one of the three main Chinese martial arts grouped as ‘neija’ arts or ‘internal arts’. It was created in the the early 19th century by Dong Haichuan and is renowned for its practice of ‘circle walking’ and its ability to teach its adherents to flow in combat and movement. A number of Bagua styles are practised in the Durban dojo, always keeping true to the fundamentals of this unconventional and powerful art.